Description

Padeswood & Buckley Golf Course is situated only 15 minutes from Chester and surrounded by the beautiful Clwydian countryside.

Yes the course is short, but accuracy is the key to playing our beautifully scenic golf course. This is a test be under no illusion but an enjoyable one for all. We have water that comes into play on 10 holes be it OOB, dykes or ponds and a little elevation but our gem is an easy walk but buggies are available to hire if you have the need. Our signature hole is the 14th from the whites and yellows of which there is a picture in the gallery

History of the Club

The club would not be in existence today had it not been for the enterprise of Arthur Joseph.
The first record we have of a golf club at Padeswood is on the 1912 OS map which shows Mold Golf Club occupying the land
on the right of Station Lane. The course remained until 1922 when the members moved to Pantymwyn. Some documentation,
however, suggests that the Mold club was at Padeswood as early as 1909 although no actual records have been found.
The Padeswood course was left derelict until 1932 when Arthur Joseph, holidaying in the area, spotted an ideal prospect and
decided that he could make the land into a good golf course.
At the time he was the professional at Mellor and Townscliffe Golf Club, Derbyshire, and already had to his credit the design
and construction of the 18 hole Great Ormes Head Golf course at Llandudno in 1903 and the Mellor Golf Course in 1919.
It is also believed that he was the professional at Bury Golf Club in 1913.
Arthur set up as a tenant at the Bridge Inn, Padeswood (now demolished), in 1932. Having obtained a lease from the FairbairnEyton estate and a licence for playing golf from Mold Golf Club, he began to reconstruct the course.
He drained water from the ground into a stream that meandered through the course. All the groundwork was carried out singlehandedly with just a spade and wheelbarrow! Gradually the course took shape and the newly constructed 9 hole course at
Padeswood came into being.
Arthur Joseph was at this time the proprietor of the club, the professional and the greenkeeper. He had declared in a circular to
prospective members in March 1933 that the course would be open for play as from April 1st. He had, however, little response
possibly because he had set the annual fees too high (1 Guinea for Ladies, 2 Guineas for Gentlemen and 15 shillings for
Juveniles).
When the 20 prospective members met in the inaugural A.G.M., the club officials were appointed and members were elected to
serve on a general committee, which was to consist of twelve with four seats allocated to Lady Members.
The annual subscription was set at half a crown with a request for a voluntary donation to defray the cost of a new clubhouse.
The first main officials of the club were: President – Mr Fairbairn-Eyton, Captain – Mr. T C Jones, Lady Captain – Miss Mostyn,
Joint Secretaries – Dr Dobson and Mr. W Owen, Ladies’ Secretary – Miss D Cropper.
The minutes of subsequent meetings up to 1939 show a steady increase of players up to a total of 67 by the outbreak of war.
The minutes themselves make fascinating reading and show how these pioneer members established their local rules,
competitions, organised social functions and fundraising activities.

 

Location
Region
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review